Katie's Blog-ness

The start of the rest of my General Conference Prep. March 26, 2012

Filed under: FHE Corner — katiesblogness.wordpress.com @ 10:56 pm
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Well, Sunday did not go according to my plans this week.  I had a lousy experience in Primary (a sick tummy and finding out I was re-teaching the exact same lesson as last week were a discouraging combo), but came home eager to hit Inkscape and see if I could pull together all of the rest of the ideas I have for this Conference.  I have already come to the conclusion that with all that I have on my business and school plates right now, there was NO way I was going to be able to do EVERYTHING I had originally wanted.  I decided to focus on the new NOTES pages I envisioned for my little guys and the ones for the older girls.  I dove in with great enthusiasm, but sometimes enthusiasm is NOT quite enough.  I was able to pull together the sticker sets to let everyone use to play the guessing games tonight for FHE and the ones for THREE and FOUR to use to take “notes” during General Conference.  I really want to start encouraging the kids to really listen for their own understanding – whatever level that can be.  I do not want Conference to ONLY be about bingo and eating super random foods from the 72-hour-kits.  I want those things to be part of it, but not the whole enchilada.  If that is all I teach my kids that General Conference is about, what a disservice I have done.

The idea I came up with for the boys was prompted by another fun blog, but I tweaked the idea to be a means of taking notes on individual talks.  I also wanted to let the boys match the speaker with their picture on their sticker sheets to help foster name/face recognition of the General Authorities.  I added the idea of “color the tie to match” that I have seen in tons of Conference Packets.  I also wanted to include a tracing spot for the Apostle’s name.  So this is what I came up with…We have a big ol’ bulletin board.  I am working on making a train car for each of the First Presidency and the Quorum of the Twelve.  So far, I have only made my box car version.  I want to do a coal car and a tanker car too, but that may or may not happen this time around.  At the beginning of each session, we will put up the engine for that session (which they will be allowed to color PRIOR to that session – I may even let them do one a day between now and then to help them cope with Conference still being SO far away – LOL).  As each General Authority speaks, the boys will be able to find the corresponding train car, do the activities, put stickers on as they speak about the things they share, and then pin that train car behind the engine.  Before the next session, we will take down that train and put up the next engine.  When Conference is all done, we will put them all together in their General Conference notebooks for them to be able to review during Sunday rest time or just for fun between now and next October.  Then I will take it all out and put it into their scrapbox in one big binder, so they can look back at the things they learned even when they were small!  I am still hoping to make the individual apostle cars before Saturday, but really I should not even be taking the time to post them tonight, let alone make any more!  If I don’t get back to it, I will at least post the blank version of my little box car and the one I made for President Monson to give you an idea.

Conference Train Engine Saturday Morning,     Conference Train Engine Saturday Afternoon

Conference Train Engine Sunday Morning,       Conference Train Engine Sunday Afternoon

Here is the box car I made for President Monson.  I have  also included both the blank engine and the blank box car for you.

Box Car President Monson

Blank Box Car

Blank Conference Train Engine

I have no idea if THREE or FOUR are going to like these or not, but I had SO much fun making them on Sunday!  My hubby was completely amused by my giddiness over this little fun box car and the little train engine.  If the boys are half as entertained or excited by them when we bust them out on Saturday as I was when I finished with them it will be SOOOO worth it!  I am just dying for Conference to see how they react to these trains and the stickers (below) that they can decorate them with all through General Conference!  (I’m a touch ecstatic in case you couldn’t tell and were wondering! 🙂  LOL)

<-  General Conference Sticker Set for Apostles Only

This makes FOUR full sets of the 15 prophets, seers, and revelators!  The pictures that have the brackets around them make up the fourth set.

General Conference Sticker Set for pre-reader ->

This is the set I made for the boys to use to take their notes.  There are extra pictures of President Monson since he speaks more than once usually and because other speakers are likely to talk about

him or about prophets.  The pictures are just ideas of things that you might find on any General Conference Bingo Board, only I am using them a bit differently.  (The picture at the bottom of the third row is the logo for Geungle, our genealogical research software.  I did not include it as a marketing thing – I just forgot it was there until I saw it here on my blog.   I don’t have time to change it tonight – I’m sorry.  My kids will use that if someone talks about genealogy, but your kids can use it the same way, ignore it, or make up something creative for it to represent. 🙂  I love to see where creativity like that can lead sometimes!)  The kids can use the various sticker to mean whatever they think they should, depending on what the speaker says!  I made these to fit the Avery 8160 size labels.  Honestly, I have not printed mine yet, so I am not sure it they will work just right after being turned into a PDF or PNG file.  If they don’t work, please let me know!  (I sure hope my printer starts being more cooperative before Saturday, so I can find out for myself!!!)

I am SOOOOO hoping to have time to finish doing what I wanted to for Conference and I will surely post it all here if I do!  But if not, there’s always October!

As always, the materials posted here are for only personal or church use – no commercial use is OK.  The images used to make the sticker sheets came from various parts of the lds.org website.  I am not publishing these here for my benefit, but to hopefully save someone else time in not needing to again go through the effort to pull them all off their site and drop them in an image manipulation program.  I hope you enjoy! 🙂

Small Donate Button

Big ads on my blog come from the host company, to understand why they are here, please feel free to visit their explanation. I’ve contemplated moving my blog to a self hosted spot to get rid of them (less expensive than the cost to get rid of the ads), but I’m not sure I am comfortable enough yet to brave hosting it myself. Please forgive any inappropriate advertising choices made by my hosting company and have patience with my chicken attitude about self hosting.

 

15 Responses to “The start of the rest of my General Conference Prep.”

  1. owenfam Says:

    Thank you so much! I printed these on another label set and they worked great also! Thanks for being so kind to share!
    Is there a caboose coming?

    • You are so welcome! It is so worth the time to share if I can save someone else the time to re-create them. I am so glad to hear that they can work on other labels. When I printed mine, I was nervous, but they turned out great and my little men LOVED them!

      As for a caboose…we’ll see. I want to make one, but I want to do it really fun and cute and I may have to wait until next Sunday to get to play again. Keep tuned and hopefully it will happen sooner than later. Though I am about to TRY to post the rest of the cars that I did make (a tanker car and a coal car)!

  2. owenfam Says:

    Thank you! your so kind to share!

  3. […] kids to color the tie on each train car to match the tie of the speaker as they talk. Then I have sticker pages that I made up that include pictures of each Apostle as well as lots of standard Conference topic […]

  4. Sara Says:

    You rock! Fabulous idea!! Thanks so much!

  5. Krystal Says:

    I just printed these off. So excited! Wanted to let you know there’s a typo: “mathc” instead of “match” on the blank box car template.

  6. […] have 3 girls and 5 boys, but have only posted my Conference Train for cute note taking geared towards little ones. I have been working on some cute ones that are […]

  7. nancy Says:

    I love your website and the information I am able to gleam from it. My 12 year old daughter and her friend came to me one day and asked if they could publish a website to teach people about being LDS. The site is LOL 4 LDS – lessons of life for LDS http://lol.worldxn.net/introduction/

    They have done a wonderful job! I am trying to help get the word out. I was hoping that you would take a look at it and possibly add a link to your page. We would be happy to put a link on her page to your site if that is okay with you. Thank you in advance.

    Nancy

    • Thanks Nancy. Sorry it took so long for me to get to the computer to approve your comment. I had my littlest mangle her finger (which fortunately x-rayed NOT broken) and then had Easter – the blog had to take back seat status for this weekend. Now that your comment is on my site, the link goes with it, so YOU just put her link on my site. I don’t always feel super comfy with connecting to whatever random links on here (I’ve had some VERY, ahem, interesting but inappropriate links attempted to be made to my blog). I went and visited her new site though, and it looks like she is trying to do good things with it.

      So, I say… Good for your daughter and the other young lady she’s doing her site with! It’s amazing how much easier it is these days to share a testimony with people you’re likely to never meet and connect with other youth from anywhere in the country. I hope she has fun with it! 🙂

  8. Hi everyone! I have felt that I need to spend my time on my family, my work, and some things I am doing for our PTA right now instead of doing any updating or adding this time around. I hope that what I already have will still be a blessing for some of you. To find all my General Conference-ish stuff, please follow the tag on any of those posts or simply use this link. Happy Conference everyone!!! 🙂

    https://katiesblogness.wordpress.com/tag/general-conference/


Leave a Reply

