Katie's Blog-ness

4th of July Fun! July 3, 2012

Filed under: Katie's Krafts,Politics and Patriotism — katiesblogness.wordpress.com @ 2:09 pm
Tags: , , , ,

So – I LOVE the 4th of July and I LOVE doing fun crafty projects with my kids.  Today I am posting my attempt to combine the two.  These are two activities that require cutting and glue or tape.  These are just for fun and my kids had a blast this morning making the Spirals and hanging them on strings from their bike handles, the ceiling fan blades (actually I did that hanging), or just dancing with them as they twirl in the breeze.  We are going to try the TP tube holders this afternoon and then fill them with those snap things that you throw on the ground and they pop.  Then we are taking their personal “firecrackers” with us to keep them busy making noise while we wait for fireworks to start tonight.  I hope you enjoy!

I have had fun playing with different color options and have provided PDFs in red, white, and blue.  I also have the black and white version for those that want to add some extra kid effort time and let them go to town coloring them for themselves.  We used a couple of each color (not the coloring book one) to let the kids all have fun with the differences.  Hope they are fun for you!  🙂

_

Sparkler Spiral in Red, Sparkler Spiral in White, Sparkler Spiral in Blue, Sparkler Spiral in Black and White.

Firecracker in Red, Firecracker in White, Firecracker in Blue, Firecracker in Black and White.

And just for fun (and because TWO asked me to do it for her), here is another Firecracker with Fireworks on it, rather than stars.  There is only one version of this – I think once you see it, you will know why.  🙂

_

Like everything that I share on my blog, these images are for your personal, religious, or educational uses.  I do not make money on them, please play nice and only use them non-commercially.  Shoot me a note if you have any questions.  🙂

 

2 Responses to “4th of July Fun!”

  1. OK guys – so, sometimes you should try things out BEFORE posting them. LOL! Yesterday we did the spirals and had a blast! But, I did it before I posted the files and I am glad because I had originally put the hole to punch in the wrong end of the spiral. I realized it was wrong fast as we did them and switched it before posting it. Unfortunately, I did NOT test the TP firecracker wrappers ahead of time though and I should have! The rendering to PDF made the patterns slightly shorter than the originals. I will try to fix it, but I honestly don’t know how to yet. So…just be ware, there will be a slight white gap shen the wrapper is put around and that the bottom will have tiny gaps around it. Also, we ended up liking tape better than glue. The problems were not a big deal and we still had super fun with them. The kids loved that they could make popping sounds from their firecrackers (thanks to the snaps we put in side). The extra ones we made we fun places to put a few treats to keep them happy and busy while we waited for the fireworks. One glow stick sticking up out of them just turned out to be a great finishing touch!

    • Oh – and I forgot to mention in my post that the extra stars on the pages of spirals were just for fun. The kids could cut them out and glue or tape them along different parts of their spiral to add some flare and make it uniqely their own! 🙂


Leave a Reply

