Katie's Blog-ness

A Challenge, A Thrill January 7, 2013

Filed under: If Ye Are Prepared... — katiesblogness.wordpress.com @ 8:38 am
Tags: , , ,

Beware: Personal post ahead. Read at the peril of any preconceived ideas you may have had about me in the past.  Or, perhaps there will be nothing shocking to you at all.  I will, however, feel completely exposed, so please keep your comments kind.  😉

In case I have never mentioned it before, we live in a college town that we came to for…you guessed it, college. We have been here ever since that fateful summer EIGHT years ago now. (Wow, has it really been that long?  Good grief! Time sure flies!) We have also been doing the college thing for one or the other of us essentially ever since.  This past semester, thanks to the inspiration from a loving Heavenly Father that knew what was coming in our lives, when we did not, neither of us was in school.  Hubby is done all except his master’s thesis project that is also the program we are currently writing for our company.  I, on the other hand, started a second bachelor’s degree last fall.  I majored in Liberal Arts the first time around and have returned for a more “marketable” degree to use for our business and as my “back-up” degree.  Now I study accounting – and I actually have fun with it!  Believe it or not, my favorite part is studying taxes!  (Yes, I know how odd that sounds to most people, but it is what it is.  I fully enjoy studying taxes!)

That was a somewhat long-winded introduction, but I share it because being in school off and on for the last 12 years has not actually put us in one of the higher tax brackets – to say the least.  As we have found ways to make every dollar stretch, we also set out with determination to do what we could, when we could, to build up our family’s food storage.  We have had too many times when our food storage is the only thing that has provided food for our table. When we were first married, we inherited some initial storage from my in-laws and found it our main-stay food source while we struggled to find work for the first several months of our marriage.  This is not that moment – exactly.  We have no shortage of work.  Unfortunately, we are not paid for the work we do right now.  Thanks to the grace of many miracles and loving friends, family, and even strangers, we have been able to manage to make it while completely bootstrapping a business.

Now comes the challenge and the thrill… I start school again TODAY.  Part of me wishes we could just zap chicken nuggets and frozen burritos each day to give me more time for my studies and work, but that does not fit in our student level budget (and I think my arteries appreciate it anyway – LOL).  Therein lies the challenge.  I actually have to cook – a lot.  Not only do I need to make our burritos from scratch, but it is one of those times that we will be needing to live on what we have stored.  I call it a challenge, not a sorrow.  That is highly intentional!  I am SO grateful and feel ridiculously blessed to be able to cut our food bill so much thanks to the power of earlier preparation!  As we face this focus in our eating habits, we decided to take advantage of the situation and attempt to actually live entirely on our food storage, rather than simply using it to fill in gaps, as an opportunity to know what it really takes and diagnose how prepared we actually are.  There is the thrill!  It is an empowering feeling to be learning so much as we take on this challenge the way we are.  What we do have in current food budget, will simply be used to replenish or build up our storage in areas that we realize are lacking.  It makes me feel like I am becoming more domestic than I have ever been before – it truly is thrilling!

So what?  Why would I share all of that with anyone, let alone whoever might stumble upon this here blog of mine?  Well, I am going to take my challenging thrill and share the experience and what I learn from it here as well.  I just figure it might all make more sense if I provided this background introduction.  Not many people take – or perhaps have – this kind of opportunity.  So I shall take it on for the benefit of my family and for the benefit of other families that can learn from my experience as well.  I am no expert, and don’t claim to be.  I am just a lady with a gutsy husband and family that are willing to live off of the odd assortment of food we have stored in closets, under beds, and on top of shelves.  If you have suggestions to offer, please, please share them!

Let the adventure begin!

 

Leave a Reply

