Katie's Blog-ness

My General Confrence Flower Garden March 17, 2013

Filed under: FHE Corner — katiesblogness.wordpress.com @ 1:57 pm
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

[An updated version of this for April 2016 can be found here!]

I have 3 girls and 2 boys, but have only posted my Conference Train for cute note taking geared towards little ones. I have been working on some cute ones that are geared towards older kids too, but they are not done yet – in fact they have been in the same unfinished state for two conferences already. (Hey, what’s one more?) BUT, my little princess – miss FIVE – needed a fun notes sheet for this year. She is just the right age to get her started taking “notes” by using stickers and coloring to record for herself the things she hears during General Conference. She will likely not sit still, with her stickers and her notes pages for each and every talk, beginning to end. However, she will likely want very much to be like her older siblings and use one or two stickers and a crayon or two for a moment during most talks. I want to empower her connecting to the messages this conference.

Trains are not just for boys, but this little princess needed something new. (Plus, the boys might just enjoy something new too!) As this is the spring General Conference, I decided to finally make what I have been contemplating for a couple of years now. I created a General Conference Flower Garden!Elder Cook We will have a Family Home Evening the Monday before Conference to talk to the kids about planting the words of the prophets deep in our hearts. Hopefully the visual flowers for their notes sheets will make it easier to remember that we have to do something about what we hear of our understanding will wilt and die like a flower that is not planted.

Here’s how the notes sheets work. Each speaker, of the 15 prophets, seers, and revelators, will have their own page. That way the kids have something new and fresh each talk (of the First Presidency and Quorum of the Twelve). Plus, then they can build their “garden” talk by talk – hopefully adding an additional level of involvement and interaction to keep the kiddo engaged in Conference. The child takes their “notes” by writing, drawing, or sticking stickers on a new page for each talk. Each page has the name of one of those 15 leaders in dashed line, tracing style letters. There is a flower that has the picture for that same General Authority on the page. Each flower also has a tie for a stem that can be decorated to match the tie that leader is wearing. The children can fill the petals with topics that are discussed by that speaker or use the stickers made to go with the Conference Train to decorate their flower page with ideas they pick up on during that talk. After the talk is finished and the child has taken the notes they want, they can add the flower to garden for that session. Flower by flower a beautiful garden will appear!

After General Conference is over, my kids love it when I gather all their notes and put them in a notebook that they can look through during the next six months before the next General Conference begins! It makes for some great reading material on a Sunday afternoon or as a resource for a child to prepare their own talk or a lesson for Family Home Evening too!

A NOTE: I plan to make a paper “planter box” out of a strip of butcher paper and hang it on our big peg board with enough pins that all the flowers can be added one session at a time. I may get a few minutes and do up a printable planter box, but that may be only a dream for me this Conference. You could also do a fun vase or a strip of green cloth or brown cloth to be the ground that the kids are planting in. Of put a picture of a planter box or garden plot on the cover for a file folder to add all the flowers too. Anyone have any other ideas for creating a place to plant the words of the prophets as the kids complete their flower notes?

Here are the blank template flowers – these can be used for the speakers that are not in the First Presidency or Quorum of the Twelve. To open the PDF of the image, click on the file name, not the picture itself. The picture is there just to give you an idea what that file will look like.

5 round petals templateConference Flower Garden Template 1

Tulip templateConference Flower Garden Template 2

8 Petal flower pointy and roundConference Flower Garden Template 3

Bendy Roundish petals templateConference Flower Garden Template 4

Pointy petals flower templateConference Flower Garden Template 5

That is all of the flower templates – or blank flowers. The fun thing is that I can so see using these templates for all kinds of activities by simply ignoring the tie stems and thinking of them like any other flower. I love when I can reuse the same idea for multiple things!

Now, here are the links to all the PDFs of each of the 15 pages for the First Presidency and Quorum of the Twelve Apostles.

President Monson

President Eyring

President Uchtdorf

President Packer

Elder Perry

Elder Nelson

Elder Oaks

Elder Ballard

Elder Scott

Elder Hales

Elder Holland

Elder Bednar

Elder Cook

Elder Christofferson

Elder Andersen

There you go! Enjoy! I may add a flower’s planter box later on if I get a few minutes, but for now that’s a good start for my Conference prep for April 2013. 🙂

The images of the General Authorities are from lds.org and are only added here to make it easier for you by not needing to attach each of those images again for yourselves.

Creative Commons License
However, my own work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License

 

Small Donate Button

 

Big ads on my blog come from the host company, to understand why they are here, please feel free to visit their explanation. I’ve contemplated moving my blog to a self hosted spot to get rid of them (less expensive than the cost to get rid of the ads), but I’m not sure I am comfortable enough yet to brave hosting it myself. Please forgive any inappropriate advertising choices made by my hosting company and have patience with my chicken attitude about self hosting.

 

5 Responses to “My General Confrence Flower Garden”

  1. QueenB Says:

    Thanks for sharing. I think my own kids will really enjoy this!

  2. Wendy Says:

    I’ve been searching for something for my 5 year old girl to do– this is perfect!! Thank you so much for sharing your talents!

  3. […] Conference starts at 10:00am (MST) this weekend. Right? Anyway, here is an updated version of the General Conference Flower Garden that I made before. I have added our 3 new Apostles, changed Elder Nelson’s page to reflect […]


Leave a Reply

