Katie's Blog-ness

A Bit of Extra Conference Fun April 6, 2013

Filed under: FHE Corner — katiesblogness.wordpress.com @ 8:37 am
Tags: , , , ,

OK – so I decided to throw out a couple for ideas that we are trying this conference. I have bought several treats that have multiple colors – like skittles, rainbow goldfish crackers, M&Ms, colored marshmallows, and so forth. I also bought some of the bright veggies that are good to eat raw and some bright cheeses. They will be in a dish FOR EACH KID (I decided this year to try avoid the back and forth yo-yo things to get foods from the table that we had the last two times). Then we will be a new variety of BINGO board that I am going to have them color each square with one color. They can have more than one square that is the same color, but they have to have a variety of colors that are found in the foods I have. Then as those things get mentioned, they get to pick a food that color and eat ONE. Each time they hear whatever is on the board they may have another of those same colored foods. πŸ™‚

Number two – and this one I think I will have to post a picture of AFTER we do it – we are using empty egg cartons opened up big, with a slit cut in the bottom of each egg carton. Then we are using some apostle puppets to stick on StickySticks and then slip each apostle in one of the holes. The lid of the egg carton will have one more slit with a podium at one end and “seats” for TP tube puppets of the first presidency. I’ll post links to the puppets we are using AFTER Conference sometime, but for now, I’ve got breakfast to make still (we decided on sleeping in this morning – a new and novel thing around here!) and scissors still to round up before Conference starts in half an hour!

Yippeeeeee!!!! I love CONFERENCE

They say a picture is worth 1,00 words, but they really meant that a GOOD picture is worth 1,000 words. This lousy picture might take that many words to explain, but I'll try to keep it more brief than that!Hopefully you can tell this is an UPSIDE DOWN egg carton. I cut a skinny slit in the bottom of each egg cup that was wide enough for my sticks to slide down into. Then I cut 2 slits on one half of the lid, for the "speaker" and the podium. The other half of the lid is where I cut 3 more slits for the First Presidency. With mine, I had all the Quorum of the Twelve face one direction, with the podium, "speaker" and First Presidency facing another direction. I think you could rearrange things to have them all face the same way, but I didn't think that through until my son was already playing with it (naturally). Anyway, this ended up SUPER simple, fast, mess free, and a whole bunch of fun. I have all kinds of ideas brewing as to how we are going to "play" with it tomorrow that will really be mommy teaching and THREE learning stuff he doesn't even realize he's learning as we go along! (I love secret teaching moments like that! "Meniacle laugh"!)

They say a picture is worth 1,000 words, but they really meant that a GOOD picture is worth 1,000 words. This lousy picture might take that many words to explain, but I’ll try to keep it more brief than that!
Hopefully you can tell this is an UPSIDE DOWN egg carton. I cut a skinny slit, that was wide enough for my sticks to slide down into, in the bottom of each egg cup. Then I cut two slits on one half of the lid, for the “speaker” and the podium. The other half of the lid is where I cut three more slits for the First Presidency. With mine, I had all the Quorum of the Twelve face one direction, with the podium, “speaker” and First Presidency facing another direction. I think you could rearrange things to have them all face the same way, but I didn’t think that through until my son was already playing with it (naturally). Anyway, this ended up SUPER simple, fast, mess free, and a whole bunch of fun. I have all kinds of ideas brewing as to how we are going to “play” with it tomorrow that will really be mommy teaching and THREE learning stuff he doesn’t even realize he’s learning as we go along! (I love secret teaching moments like that! “Meniacle laugh”!) I hope that makes any sense, if not, make up your own I guess. It’s can’t end up any more simple or silly than mine. πŸ˜‰

 

Creative Commons License
My work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License

 

Small Donate Button

 

Big ads on my blog come from the host company, to understand why they are here, please feel free to visit their explanation. I’ve contemplated moving my blog to a self hosted spot to get rid of them (less expensive than the cost to get rid of the ads), but I’m not sure I am comfortable enough yet to brave hosting it myself. Please forgive any inappropriate advertising choices made by my hosting company and have patience with my chicken attitude about self hosting.

 

3 Responses to “A Bit of Extra Conference Fun”

  1. Janelle Says:

    I think I follow, but would love a pic of the actual “event”:)

    • Well, I was going to use the Apostles found on this http://www.lds.org/friend/2012/03/living-prophets-teach-me-to-choose-the-right?lang=eng activity, but decided they were too small. (Though, I did use that podium.) I ended up using the Apostle pictures from my sticker sheets that I made up a while ago. I use them normally for my “kid note taking” at Conference. (Side note: This year, I had no sticky labels, so I just printed them on paper and let them cut them out and use glue sticks for taking notes. I wasn’t sure how well it’d go over, but it was great!) We used an extra set of the Apostle’s pictures for our “egg carton Conference Center.” The StickySticks made this the fastest, easiest, and simplest craft that all of the kids are excited now to play with tomorrow. I may even let them make a couple extra ones, so all the youngest ones, at least, can move the different Apostles to the podium as we go through the sessions. This really was a random thought for an activity, but I am super happy how well it was received. I hope the picture helps, rather than confuses! We ended up putting the First Presidency also on the lid (along with the podium), with President Monson in front and his Counselors behind. I think tomorrow, I’ll have the six-year-old see if he can get all of them in their right seniority line up or put names on the eggs carton cups and then see if he can match the picture to the name and get them back in their right “seats.” It’s amazing how much I can milk out of a set of 15 StickySticks and an upside down egg carton! LOL πŸ™‚

  2. […] build something gospel focused, Apostle paper dolls, and other quiet activities (like the one found here and dozens and dozens of other great options) periodically as I see the kids needing a mental shift […]


Leave a Reply

