Katie's Blog-ness

Angels We Have Heard On High, But Sometimes I Want Them Even Closer December 13, 2014

Filed under: Uncategorized — katiesblogness.wordpress.com @ 4:02 am
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Sometimes I am shocked at the timing for when grief hits. This is a truly stunning video that filled me with light. It is joyful – truly joyful. Yet as the first little boy reached out to moved the Baby Jesus figurine, I was slammed by a wanting pain of missing my little boy that never got the chance to play with our piles of nativity figures or hang ornaments (like my other kids did tonight) or even play the role of the sacred Baby in a recreation of this event. Most of the time I simply take comfort in the power of Hid glorious resurrection that will provide also for the same for my son. But that is someday, and this is now. Tonight, I just want to hold him. I want him in my arms, just for one night. What I want is to hold my little one and hug him and kiss him and sing him my favorite Christmas carols and stroke his soft cheek. What I want, I can’t have. So I think instead, what I need is for my Savior to hold me. To help and to lift me and my heart sits broken once again for what I can’t hold myself. And perhaps, just for one night, my baby might be allowed to help Him hold me tonight.

 

2 Responses to “Angels We Have Heard On High, But Sometimes I Want Them Even Closer”

  1. I kept wanting to apologize for sharing something so unhappy related to such an inspiring song, video, season, and holiday. I just couldn’t apologize. I needed to share it. I needed to share it because I know it is only through my Savior, who this video is all about, that I have been able to find any of the peace that was declared by hosts of angels on that first Christmas night. His peace is what I seek. His peace is what has provided a return to a place where I can again feel “great joy” in all the incredible blessings He so freely offers me. So, I don’t apologize for sharing my pain as I hope that I can also share His joy.

    “And the angel said unto them, Fear not: for, behold, I bring you good tidings of great joy, which shall be to all people.
    For unto you is born this day in the city of David a Saviour, which is Christ the Lord.
    And this shall be a sign unto you; Ye shall find the babe wrapped in swaddling clothes, lying in a manger.
    And suddenly there was with the angel a multitude of the heavenly host praising God, and saying,
    Glory to God in the highest, and on earth peace, good will toward men.”

    I do pray that each of us will seek and find His true joy this beautiful season. Merry Christmas and “God bless us, everyone.”

  2. And then I just found this…
    https://rally.org/mollybears
    Bless them for their work. Any comfort is a gift and blessing worth attempting to offer. Beautiful.


Leave a Reply

