Katie's Blog-ness

General Conference Flower Garden – Weeded and Watered March 31, 2016

Filed under: FHE Corner — katiesblogness.wordpress.com @ 1:38 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Cover Image April 2016Better now than Saturday morning! I had hoped to finish this up before now, but Thursday is better than JUST barely before Conference starts at 10:00am (MST) this weekend. Right? Anyway, here is an updated version of the General Conference Flower Garden that I made before. I have added our 3 new Apostles, changed Elder Nelson’s page to reflect his new position as President of the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles, added in blank pages for Seventies or other men who speak, AND finally added a page for the sisters who speak!

In case you’ve never use one of my notes sets for General Conference, I’ll explain how I use them with my kids, but really, you can get pretty creative about it for yourself. If you have other great uses, I’d love to hear about them in the comments! I print a full set (First Presidency and Quorum of the Twelve) for each of my kids that participate in this type of note taking. I also print a handful of extra sheets – the blank ones, the new Sister _____ page (I’m SO excited to have finally made this one!), and even sometimes an extra copy or two of the First Presidency for if the kids decide to watch Priesthood session along with Hubby and want to take notes (I am shocked at how often the kids REQUEST this!). Then we either make notebooks for each kid to keep their notes in by themselves or we create our garden spot on the wall with green paper grass that the kids can “plant” (aka tape up on the wall) their flowers in as we watch.

For my older kids I give them a set of the Apostles Stickers Set to place in the center of each notes page as they start taking notes for that person’s talk. Then those bigger kids draw or write their notes – whatever stands out to them. They illustrate stories , write key words or phrases, or (this is what we encourage most) jot down the things that the Spirit whispers to them as they listen – especially answers to their questions that they have going into Conference. (We always take time to prep for General Conference with things like FHE lessons, guessing games, and taking time to write down the questions or concerns we are facing. Then we come prayerfully to Conference to find our answers. President Eyring’s comments in the First Presidency Message this coming month goes along perfectly with these activities!)

For the little ones – my pre-readers – I print them each a page of the cute General Conference Sticker Set for them. I cut the images apart and place them in a baggies for each of them to find images that show the ideas talked about in each talk. They color the ties that are the stems of the flowers. They doodle, trace the names, and have an amazing time seeing the things they noticed decorate our wall as they add each new flower to our garden!

We reward our kids for paying attention, being reverent, allowing others to focus, and taking notes. I always have a binder of fun activity pages and they get one after each talk they take reverent intentional notes for. I also offer stickers, cool scissors with cutting activities, coloring pages, Lego sets with instructions to build something gospel focused, Apostle paper dolls, and other quiet activities (like the one found here and dozens and dozens of other great options) periodically as I see the kids needing a mental shift or deserving an appreciated reward.

Anyway, I hope all of you have a WONDERFUL General Conference! I can hardly wait!!!! I am SOOOO ready for this weekend’s spiritual feast!!!!! πŸ™‚

President Monson

President Eyring

President Uchtdorf

President Nelson

Elder Oaks

Elder Ballard

Elder Hales

Elder Holland

Elder Bednar

Elder Cook

Elder Christofferson

Elder Andersen

Elder Rasband

Elder Stevenson

Elder Renlund

Sister _________ template

5 round petals template

8 Petal flower pointy and round

Bendy Roundish petals template

Pointy petals flower template

Tulip template

One word about the sticker sheets – I created these based on the Avery 8160 size labels. They can also easily be printed on simple 8.5″x11″ sticker paper. But honestly, I don’t always – or even usually – have either on hand, so mine are usually printed on regular old printer paper. Then the images are cut apart and used with either tape or glue stick as the kids take their notes. I have also had kids ask to use our collection of old Church magazines to find and cut out their own pictures instead of using the sticker sheets I made, but generally they prefer the sticker method most. The images included are NOT mine, are NOT part of my CC-BY-NC license for the rest of my work here, come mostly from lds.org or openclipart.org, and are only included here as an example and as a convenience. You can find your own images or even assign kids to find images from old magazines before Conference to use as they take their notes.

General Conference Sticker Set

Apostles Sticker Set

 

 

If you would ever like the SVG file for any of the things I make, please feel free to let me know and I’m happy to post them as well. πŸ™‚

 

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 3.0 Unported License. If you are interested in using this in a commercial way, please contact me. πŸ™‚

 

Small Donate Button

 

Big ads on my blog come from the host company, to understand why they are here, please feel free to visit their explanation. I’ve contemplated moving my blog to a self hosted spot to get rid of them (less expensive than the cost to use my current provider and have them get rid of the ads), but I’m not sure I am comfortable enough yet to brave hosting it myself. Please forgive any inappropriate advertising choices made by my hosting company and have patience with my chicken attitude about self hosting.

 

4 Responses to “General Conference Flower Garden – Weeded and Watered”

  1. […] [An updated version of this can be found here!] […]

  2. MarlaHughes Says:

    Miss you. πŸ™‚

  3. […] his notes right along with his scriptures – which I LOVE), and the little girls are doing a Conference Flower Garden, HUBBY has his journal, and I am trying taking notes on my computer for the first time in years. […]


Leave a Reply

